Oh Happy, Happy Day

Standard

My husband told me last night, “You haven’t blogged in a while. I think it’s time.” He said that in response to my happy tears…ok, if I’m being honest it was a complete waterfall of tears. I lost it. You see, last night I saw my final grades for my undergraduate degree. Since being back in school in January 2013, I have kept a 4.0 GPA. What?! Never in a million years would I dream that would be possible. I’ve never been that great of a student. I can’t comprehend what I read well. I’m not outgoing, and I don’t make friends easily. PLUS, I was in high school when most of my class was born. What would I have in common with them?

Over the last two years I have really enjoyed getting to know my classmates. They are far more mature than I was at their age. They’re going to do amazing things not only in the field of speech-language pathology but also in life in general. I wish they could see that as clearly as I can. With the drive and effort they have put into classes and organizations, they can accomplish whatever they set their mind to!

If any of my classmates are reading this, thank you. Thank you for accepting the girl that didn’t quite fit into the same box you did. I was overwhelmed and scared at the thought of being so much older, but you accepted me as one of your own. You will never know how much that meant to me and how much maturity that showed! I literally have tears in my eyes because of the blessing you showed me.

Through the last 2½ years I have had many people say, “I don’t see how you do it.” I have two words as my answer. 1) God 2) Family God has provided the path, strength, stamina, clarity, and wisdom I needed to get through. My family has been on babysitting duties more times than they probably wanted, listen to my crazy rants & raves and I-can’t-do-it moments, supported me when I needed it, encouraged me when I needed it, believed in me when I didn’t believe in myself, and loved me completely. I was scared to death I’d fail…and in front of tons of people, including my family. With them by my side, I didn’t. WE didn’t.

I’ve learned a lot of lessons throughout this time. The main one I want to pass on to my kids is to reach for the stars. Have confidence in yourself and go for it! I’ve lacked confidence for years. I’m 36 years old and finally finding my confidence. Oh what I could have done if I would have found it earlier in life! I may be getting a late start and my priorities may be different now, but I’m still going to shoot for the moon!

I begin studying for my master’s degree May 26th. There’s not much of a break. For a while I was sad that there wasn’t going to be much down time. Now, I’m thankful. With the momentum I have, let’s keep trucking!!

(To my husband, Ryan, NONE of this could have been possible without you. You have been my rock, my happy place, my calm, and my strength. My life is better because you are in it, and I believe in myself because you believe in me. Thank you for enduring my crazy. Two more years of school crazy, and hopefully we’ll be back to my normal crazy. I love you. I couldn’t ask for a better person to share my life with.)

Leave a Reply

